Michigan Sportsman Forum banner
1 - 1 of 1 Posts

· Registered
127 Posts
Wow! very good posts and even though there is some varying views the points made by all is valid.

I have heard statements personally made by Alsheimer and his view that we can take 50% of all the does yearly is strange, coming from one so versed in deer management. Perhaps along the Indiana border this might work, but having this harvest concept would devastate some deer herds in more harsher areas.

Neil Dougherty is a recent appointee to the Board of Directors National QDMA and of course I have had the pleasure of meeting and knowing him better. He is an Educator (University- now retired) by profession and my take is that he is quite intelligent. A general statement to shoot any and all does seen is not my sense of sound deer management. I have not heard this statement from him and not sure if that is his true view. We have a board meeting on March 6 2004 in Atlanta and I will talk to Neil about this.

I have written articles pertaining to this subject and hopefully part ! of a two part series will be published in the coming March issue of Woods-N-Water. The article is "What's the ideal buck to doe ratio"? This two part series has been critique by Executive Director, Brian Murphy QDMA with very few changes, so I feel confident that my views run parallel to the views of our official QDMA positions.

Along michigan's southern borders The buck to doe ratio can be one buck to one and 1/2 does and easily sustain a high deer harvest, forever by harvesting about one doe per buck. This harvest ratio should maintain that 1:1.5 buck to doe ratio indefinately. The harvesting of does should be directed toward the older does due to them being the most productive. Remember doe fawns there have a 50% pregnancy rate.