Michigan Sportsman Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to the state and was wondering if the any rivers contain hellgramites.

Thanks for the help

·
Registered
598 Posts
Someone hurry up and post the shot of Fred Trost getting bit by the hellgramite. I know that someone out there has it. To answer your question, yes there are hellgramites. Someone with more experience will probably give you more information.

·
Registered
1,110 Posts
pretty easy to find in the chippewa.

Nasty looking little buggers.
:lol:

·
Registered
1,579 Posts
Scientific name: Corydalus cornutus
Common name: Hellgramite (larvae), Dobson Fly (adult)
November's creature is a hellgramite. As you might have guessed by looking at it, it's a predator--and it's a big one! Hellgramites are usually three-inches long.

This creature is in the insect order Megaloptera. Adult Megalopterans include insects commonly known as fishflies, alderflies and dobsonflies. Larval Megalopterans, specifically those in the family Corydalidae, are known as hellgramites. The species in the genus Corydalus are among our largest North American insects.

Hellgramites are not very common. They are generally found under big rocks in larger, well-aerated streams and rivers. Being large and "showy" insects they tend to be secretive, hiding tightly wedged under large rocks to avoid predation (being eaten by something else).

As they lie under rocks, they feed on pretty much any insect or invertebrate that crawls by. They don't chase creatures that swim by, because they lack the ability to swim strongly in the fast-flowing water environment that they live in. Actually, they don't swim very well in any water.