Michigan Sportsman Forum banner

archery lessons?

3K views 8 replies 9 participants last post by  Ultramag 
#1 ·
i was woundering if anyone knew of a place or a persons that give lessons in basic archery? (form, holding the bow correctly, setting up the bow shooting tips.. etc) this is my first year shooting and i dont want to be cought up in bad habits for years to come if i dont have to. so let me know u guys...

#3 ·
There are lots of books and articles on shooting a bow. Just Google "Learning to Bowhunt" or "Shooting a Compound Bow."

The best way to learn is to shoot and shoot until your arms and shoulders just start to hurt then stop. Wait 2 days and shoot again until you start to ache. Keep repeating until you can shoot 50 arrows in one shooting period and still feel good. If you can shoot 50 arrows without any aches you may want to go up in poundage. The more power you shoot, the more accurate you will be.

Now once your shooting muscles are in good shape you will probably be pretty darn good at figuring out the rest of it.

When first starting to learn to shoot it is an exercise in frustration to even try to fine tune your sights. Once you get a repeatable, strong draw and release then you can start to tune your sights in. All in all, I would say that shooting a compound bow accurately is one of the easiest things to accomplish if you spend a lot of time doing it.

The most important thing you need to learn after you get the simple stuff out of the way is how to best guess your yardage. Challenge yourself during the regular day to guess distances. Then pace them off to see if you are right. Challenge your buddies out of the blue to a distance guessing contest. You would be surprised once you get your range finder in your brain calibrated how accurate you will eventually be.