Michigan Sportsman Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

· Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Was on a winter canoe trip on the Pine River this weekend and had a chance to hunt for coyotes on Sat. night for an hour. Had no luck, not even a sighting. Did get to see a ton of deer, even rounded a bend to find a bald eagle munching on a deer carcass laying on a sandbar. Anybody have better luck in the morning for coyotes?

· Registered
707 Posts
I was out Saturday afternoon. I set up in a wooded area where I have seen a coyote and began a calling sequence, (rabbit distress). I called for about 3 minutes and stopped. The only thing that came in were three does. They could scent me but couldn't see me and were about 15 yards away. It was kinda funny. I tryed two more sequences each about 3 minutes and 15-20 minutes apart, no luck. I stayed put for 20 minutes or so after I was done calling. Nothing. I'm just learning so I don't know how "good" I sound or not. I called up a big owl the first time out. He flew in and landed in a big oak 50 yards out just to see what the commotion was.

Sounds like a great canoe trip though!

· Banned
694 Posts
msiebers and I went out a week and a half ago and had no luck in calling them in, but I think that the deep snow might be a hinderence.
I've been doing a lot of reading in my old hunting magazines, and on the internet. Here are a couple things that might increase our chances next time out.
If the deer are yarding up, they say that the coyotes will follw them and pick off the weak ones through out the winter. So, deer yards may be the place to look for them.
One other thing that I may have been doing wrong, is blowing to long on my rabbit cries.
The artical that I read said that a common mistake is in forgetting that the rabbit is a small animal with small lungs, so the caller must remember to keep his squeels (sp) short.

[This message has been edited by Tom222 (edited 01-08-2001).]

· Registered
384 Posts