Michigan Sportsman Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Taking a fishing trip up there this October druing the second week. I love catching smallmouth, largemouth, and walleye. We will be staying on Intermediate Lake. I have read other reports which leed me to belive I need to concentrate my efforts on Intermediate Lake, Lake Bellaire, and Skegemog Lake.

I have seen that Lake Bellaire and Intermediate Lake have more larger smallmouth than the rest of the chain.

I'm hoping to find the fish in 5 to 10 feet of water that time of year.

I read other post on this forum with questions about some of these lake but the replies have been by pm so not many answers were shown. That is why I am looking for some info that may help either by pm or a regular reply.

I appreciate any help I could get. This is my first time up in that area.

·
Registered
1,525 Posts
For fishing in October in those chains, your gonna wanna aim at the primary drop offs. By then the water teps should be hovering around the mid 60's and they will be on the big fall feed. Skega has a stump field at the mouth of Torch river to the south. Shallow and woody. Belaire should be concentration on the eastern shore and the north arm areas. Inter. lake is a toss up. The southern end is a good producer for big smallies and farther up the chain it will switch over to a largemouth population. Big flashy spinnerbaits, lipless cranks, wiggle warts, and over sized soft jerk baits are my best choices at those times. The fish are looking to stock up on food and get very very agressive. Good luck to ya. Hope to see ya out there. I'll be in an older gray/silver ChampioN. Just scream out "hey pollock" and I usually answer. Any other questions that ya have feel free to ask. I'll be posting after every guide trip I do on the board so everyone can have a running account of how the years open water season is going in my area.

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·