Michigan-Sportsman.com banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
3,023 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My property is in big woods with no ag for 60 miles in any direction. It has been very productive for black bear, which is my main interest. The property was logged about 25-30 years ago. What, if any, whitetail improvements should I consider that don't compromise my bear hunting.

·
Registered
10,647 Posts
What do deer want that you don't have?

Security
Food
Water
Bedding
None of which compromise bear hunting. We have been managing our property for deer for 25 years....and we have too many bears. Unfortunately, we can't draw enough bear tags.

And...if your property was logged 25-30 years ago, it is probably time for at least a TSI cutting. Timber harvests make for healthy forests...and far better deer habitat.

·
Registered
3,023 Posts
Discussion Starter #4

·
Registered
140 Posts
Just my opinion... I'm still learning to be a "farmer"..my experience is from my camp in western Mackinac County and Kent County.

I really don't think you will compromise your bear hunting. The only way I could see food plots affecting your bear hunting is if you put too high of a percentage of your property into food plots.

By putting in some food plots you may actually funnel the bears into the thicker areas where your bear stands are probably located.

I haven't seen any evidence of the food plots and my increased presence during the off season affecting the bear movement in the fall.

I think you will find the bears to utilize the food plots in the early spring.

·
Registered
3,023 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
And...if your property was logged 25-30 years ago, it is probably time for at least a TSI cutting.
We're looking into logging it, but there are some problems. The last time it was done, before we owned it, it was high graded. It will need some remedial work that might not be terribly profitable to a logger. Additionally access is difficult, but doable.

Reactions: Wild Thing

·