Michigan Sportsman Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was thinking about driving from Lansing up to wade 6th Street Tuesday the 19th. I see the flow rate is pretty high. Is it too dangerous to wade right now? Don't want to make the drive and not be able to fish
Randy

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Ohub Campfire mobile app

·
Registered
383 Posts
I have only waded there twice so I am far from an expert but last week the gauge was reading less than 4 ft and the parking lot was full and guys were wading all over. Today the gauge is reading over 6 ft. I was down there today and there was plenty of room to park and the few guys I saw were on shore or VERY near shore.

Tightlines

·
Registered
155 Posts
Was there today couple people. In water but it was rippin still going up too....

Outdoor Hub mobile, the outdoor information engine

·
Registered
553 Posts
I was thinking about driving from Lansing up to wade 6th Street Tuesday the 19th. I see the flow rate is pretty high. Is it too dangerous to wade right now? Don't want to make the drive and not be able to fish
Randy

I would not chance it. Water flowing that fast and that high isnt worth it. I'd wait until next week. Or maybe this weekend the fish will still be there. Potentially more with all the rain we got. But thats just my $.02

Posted using Outdoor Hub Campfire

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Thank guys, that is exactly the kind of info I needed
Randy

·
Registered
693 Posts
Do not try wading it this high.

Even if you are a big guy, comfortable wading high flows, have a staff, cleats etc...I would strongly suggest not wading it any where near these flows.

You might be able to inch in a few yards from shore and fish little spots close to shore 'carefully'...but don't plan on doing any real wading.

·
Registered
1,148 Posts