Michigan Sportsman Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2,235 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My buddies and I had many plans for what opening day may look like. Our traditional opening day spot had virtually zero birds. One goose, two woodies is all that was in there a day before. It usually has 150-200 mallards and about 100 geese with the occasional woodies and odd ball ducks on a normal year.

I work in law enforcement (night shift currently) and this is my weekend to work, so I needed to be close to home. Some buddies chose to sleep in, a couple chose to head to the Muskegon marsh (hard pass for me), and I chose to go out on a limb and try to traffic some woodies and have my 4 legged best friend by my side. I knew it probably wasn’t going to be a bang up hunt, but it would be fun. My first opener just my dog Knox and I.

I scouted this spot a few days before season. It always has 3-4 woodies at the very least. A pond they like to sit in bordered by cornfields, and a creek they like to sit in about 60-80 yards from the pond. With the heavy rain we got I decided to run 4 dozen goose silhouettes with a couple spinners in the corn between the two water holes and I figured I’d at least get a crack at them. I knew the corn had a low spot and it floods when we get the rain.