close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

You shoot a Bear, Now What? Newbie Question

Discussion in 'MichiganBear.com' started by Deerslayer032187, Jul 10, 2017.

1. Deerslayer032187

Deerslayer032187

Hi guys,
    I'm new to bear hunting and hope to be drawn for the Newberry second hunt next year (5points). I've shot plenty of deer and have always processed my own. However, I've never done a bear before or even seen one skinned. I would like to do a shoulder mount if I get one, so I'm a little unsure about properly skinning one for that method. I've always heard to skin your bear out as soon as you can and cool it down. Would you skin it and then quarter it in a cooler that night? Ideally, I'd like to take it into a processor, but obviously most processors would be closed after I get the bear out of the woods. What do you guys normally do? Thanks in advance

2. jr28schalm

jr28schalm

dnr check station

Nostromo likes this.

3. sourdough44

sourdough44

It depends, solo hunt? With a guide?

I've seen stinky, rotten bears, come into a check station.

We have the bear skinned & in the freezer within hours of harvest. One needs to have a plan, it may be 60 degrees, Bears won't cool well whole.

Nostromo likes this.
  4. Deerslayer032187

Deerslayer032187

My uncle and I will be doing an unguided hunt on public land. So, do we need to take the bear right to the check station or can we skin it out and quarter it before we take it there?

5. hommer23

hommer23

Have a cooler full of ice if your in a remote location. After you field dress the bear pack it full and get him in the shade. Then take it into a DNR check station to get you seal so a taxidermist and butcher can process it.

sureshot006 and stickbow shooter like this.
  6. MISTURN3

MISTURN3