close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Wich Is harder one the shoulders

Discussion in 'Archery' started by stickbow shooter, Mar 20, 2018.

1. stickbow shooter

stickbow shooter

I have been shooting bows for over 46 years now. After two major shoulder surgeries ( both shoulders) and nerve issues in my bow holding elbow, It's been very hard to practice with either my compounds or Traditional bows. My question is wich one do you guys think would do the most harm to your joints over time ? .Being lets say both were shoot the same amount. I don't want this to turn into a get an xbow thread. I already have one.

2. otcarcher

otcarcher

Stickbows for sure, due to the extended time holding the weight. With today's modern bows, a guy could shoot a 50# compound for hunting quite easily. Couple that with let-off of upwards of 80-90%, and you're holding 5-10 pounds at anchor.

3. glucas

glucas

I think the compound would be harder on your shoulder than any stick bow, reason, at full draw you should be releasing, compound, until it breaks it's much harder of a pull. That's my story and I'm sticken' to it.

imjon and jr28schalm like this.
  4. Waif

Waif Premium Member

Depends on what exists after surgery ,how it healed ,and your rehab. And in rehab ,working with what you got means learning ability and adaptability .
    Muscle,tendon ,nerves and ligaments factor. How strong they are from use ,and how they affect each other count.
    Each situation unique. Your joints condition and what use and exercise do to them determines what effect shooting will have long term.
    I had a shoulder blade affected by a nerve that stuck straight back under tension for months.Still janky. Strange,but just how it was. Tried hard ,but groups with a compound were horrible.