close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

What's your favorite load?

Discussion in 'MichiganWaterfowl.com' started by Buckshot556, Nov 12, 2017.

1. Buckshot556

Buckshot556

I shoot 3" hevi metal #4, #2, and BB through my Mossberg 500 with medium choke. I don't know if it's because it's not lead, or I way over estimated the killing power of my shot gun but I feel like I struggle to kill birds. I'm a great shot, and 99% of my shots are aimed at the head of birds on the water inside of 30yds. (This is my preference as I'm learning to id birds an also not destroy the breast meat)

I admittedly never patterned my gun. I bought the hevi metal as this is what my hunting party uses and I'm new to the sport. I'm looking to change that this weekend and thinking to pickup a few different brands of #4 to pattern. Was thinking kent and rio only because that is what seems most available at the local store.

What do you guys prefer, money being no object.

Thanks

2. Divers Down

Divers Down

3. John Singer

John Singer

If money was no object, I would shoot nothing but depleted uranium.

Since money is an issue, and depleted uranium has not been approved by the FWS, I shoot steel. All of my guns have 2 3/4" chambers. For ducks, in 12 gauge, I use 1 1/16 to 1 1/8 oz of #2 or #3 steel at 1400 fps+. Rio Blue Steel, and Kent Fast Steel as well as my own reloads perform well.

I also like to hunt with my 16 gauge guns, I shoot 7/8 oz loads of steel shot at 1550 fps (published velocity). I really like #3 and surprisingly, #1 steel. I cannot explain it but #1 steel both patterns and performs very well from the left barrel of my Stevens 5100.

If you are truly shooting at ducks inside 30 yards, I do not think there is a brand or size of steel shot between #4 and BB that will not kill a duck.

Also, it is a good idea to pattern your gun. I realize that a lot of people do not but I do and I know full well what my guns are capable of.