close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

what wt fly rod?

Discussion in 'FlyTyingForums.com, Fly Tying, Trout Fishing' started by morefuninajeep, May 9, 2009.

1. morefuninajeep

morefuninajeep

hello i am new to fly fishing and was wondering what wt fly rod would be best for a newbie i was looking at a $100 set up that bass pro sells it has a large arbor reel and a disc drag the sets con in 4-8 wt what would be best? thanks in advance

2. Troutlord1

Troutlord1

Depends on what you will be targeting the most!!
    If it is just small trout or panfish a 3 or 4 weight larger
    trout or bass 5 or 6 steelies a 7 and anything larger 8 and up
    of course there are other variables like just fishing dries or large streamers etc etc so if you want an all purpose trout rod go with a 5 or
    6 weight.If its open streams and such get an 8 1/2 foot or 9 foot to help throw streamers and
    fight the wind.

3. ready4pullback

ready4pullback

Get a 5 or a 6wt. You can do just about anything except for big fish with one. Bass, bluegill, trout, pike, you can always over or undersize the line by a weight depending on the flys you wanna throw. if you get a 6wt. you can always put some 5wt. line on a spool for trout or panfish.

StStutz likes this.
  4. Ticketripper

Ticketripper

If I was just getting into it , I would just buy something cheep. floating line and a few popers. When you go blue gill fishing you will be hooked. Then you will see how your arm feels and will want to spend some REAL money on something nice. Keep the cheap outfit for a friend to try.

5. Bull Market

Bull Market

I'm in the 5 or 6 wt school when it comes to beginners. Also, go for a medium action or medium fast action . . . easier for a newbie to cast than a fast action.

6. bc993

bc993

My vote would be 5 wt, 9ft for most Michigan trout and water.

7. cane crazed

cane crazed