What size shot for Geese

Discussion in 'MichiganWaterfowl.com' started by waterwolf45, Jul 29, 2020.

1. waterwolf45

waterwolf45

I am new to goose hunting but going to try it this year. 12 gauge 3" would like advise on both steel and would also like to try bismuth. Have been shooting Kent and Federal steel, #2 and BB and they pattern good at 40 yds, but noticed with BB there is a lot less pellets. Thanks

2. Bigeejakes

Bigeejakes

If I know I'm only goose hunting I'll use BB or BBB. Pattern looks thin, but geese are bigger than ducks. 60+ BB or BBB pellets in a 30" circle will do the job on geese.

#2s will kill them, but it wouldn't be my first choice for a goose-only hunt.

Sent from my moto g power using Tapatalk

jrose and waterwolf45 like this.

3. Jimbo 09

Jimbo 09

For goose only defiantly BB or BBB

waterwolf45 likes this.
  4. quack&honk

quack&honk

My favorite shot are 1s. They are just as good at killing geese and really knock ducks dead when you hit em. Downside is 1 shot is difficult to find in most brands.

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

5. roger15055

roger15055

If we are only Goose Hunting we have found over the years for our group of guys that T shot works the best hands down. We have used #2 - bb bbb and you hit them with T shot they are coming down. Our group one guy shoots a Stoeger auto one a Mossberg 9200 one shoots a Franchi affinity one a Berretta outlander and I shoot a SBE 3 and I shoot 3” out of it so we all can pass shells back and forth. My two cents that’s all!

waterwolf45 and jrose like this.
  6. Ken Martin

Ken Martin

T's are my first choice. I used to hunt with some guys who swore that 3's were the best goose load. They also complained at the end of a hunt that they were tired from running geese down to finish them off.

waterwolf45 and roger15055 like this.
  7. Far Beyond Driven

Far Beyond Driven