What are you seeing?

Discussion in 'Upland Game hunting, Dogs and dog training' started by ryan-b, Oct 19, 2020.

1. ryan-b

ryan-b

Can say this has been my worse season to date. I hunt Kalkaska, GT, and benzie co. Not only has my time out been very limited due to simply being to busy with two jobs, but my normal go to covers are holding very few birds. I’m also sure the amazing of hunters I’m seeing isn’t helping much. Used to have nearly every cover I hunt to myself now every time I’m picking up someone’s spent shells out of them. Time to find some new spots.

shaffe48b likes this.
  2. skidoojc

skidoojc

3. cwk33041

cwk33041

I was over in the Mark Knee GEM over the weekend. Not the best conditions (rain and super windy) but only had one flush. I will say I am pretty new to the game, but there seems to be more traffic this year then last. One day I will get one of these birds.

4. MichiFishy

MichiFishy

LOTS of Woodcock around Kent County. Very few grouse, even in the best spots.

5. Gamekeeper

Gamekeeper

The LeeGrande gem was metro airport saturday.
    Had to go crazy deep to get 1 bird.

Proximity and Popularity has an effect.

6. cruiseplanner1

cruiseplanner1

We are not seeing many grouse at all and few woodcock. Hunters are everywhere in the Glad GEMS we have been hunting for many years now before it even was a GEM unit. Woodcock may yet be coming but i prefer to hunt grouse rarely shoot at Timberdoodle's

7. sportsman98

sportsman98

Hunt just south of you. Same thing. Covers that held multiple birds last year are holding one or two this year and they are as spooky as I've ever seen and that includes woodcock. I'm pretty much reduced to hunting on weekdays only because of the pressure.

The pressure started in March with steelhead and hasn't let up all year.

8. Stand By

Stand By

So many "working from home" this year, while many of us are still stuck at work.

skidoojc and sportsman98 like this.
  9. ryan-b

ryan-b