The Transformation

Discussion in 'Michigan Whitetail Deer Hunting' started by mich buckmaster, Dec 4, 2020.

1. mich buckmaster

mich buckmaster

The Transformation for me has been very hard but I am finally seeing the light, I think. I started shooting bigger bucks starting in 1999. I found a farm that I could manage because I finally had it to myself. Now getting my dad and brother on board was hard until they started seeing the bucks I was killing and also the pics. I believe pics from game cameras was the game changer, when you can prove that those deer exist on your farm. What has been hard for me, THE TRANSFORMATION, is going from 2 1/2 year old 110-120" bucks to trying to only shoot bucks over 130" and sometimes even bigger, which gets us into 3 1/2 or older. That is SUCH a challenge. I may only get a handful or less opportunities a year at such an animal and that is putting in probably 60 days of hunting a year. Just wondering how many of you have had a hard time with the transformation. I have to get it in my head that it is OKAY to go buckless for a year, but it is SO DANG HARD!!!! (But I doubt that will happen)

Dave

2. IceHog

IceHog Premium Member

I don't find it hard, if something of my standard doesn't show, oh well. I've shot plenty of bucks in the last 38 years, now I like the habitat and management side of things. I wish it were Spring already, I'm bored to death.

3. mich buckmaster

mich buckmaster

I WISH I could do habitat work, my farmer doesn't believe in doing anything to help the deer herd, HE WANTS THEM KILLED!!!

4. ekbelt3

ekbelt3