The physics of a trolled fishing line.

Discussion in 'Tips and Tricks' started by scubajay, Mar 4, 2018.

1. scubajay

scubajay

Attached Files:

fishinthed likes this.
  2. frenchriver1

frenchriver1 Mr. Flatfish Premium Member

You know, I didn't even think of this article last time I trolled out a flatfish.

But seriously, great academic study but not sure many fishermen get into that level of detail. I believe most serious trollers use charts readily available on line.

3. scubajay

scubajay

I'm sure you're correct that most folks don't consider that level of detail; however, as a an engineering physicist myself, I find the fact that somebody wrote a paper on this subject fascinating.

Scubajay Ph.D.

-Axiom- and frenchriver1 like this.
  4. piketroller

piketroller

The one I’d like to see is on the relative movement of a jig near the bottom in a deep, fast river like SCR or the D. With everyone so paranoid about staying vertical really meaning the line is vertical at its entry point into the water. If the river was a perfect laminar flow, the current speed near the bottom is a good bit slower than the surface for open channel flow. A verticsl pull with the rod tip will have a downstream component in addition to the magnitude of the current velocity at the jig. Also jig weight would play into what the actual trajectory of the jig looks like. It would be real interesting if the math said something like the motion is essentially the same for 1/2 oz to 3 oz of weight and the argument for which weight is really the best could be shown to be insignificant. It’s been a couple years since I published a paper so I might get around to writing it someday.

fishinthed likes this.
  5. fishinthed

fishinthed