close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

The Geese Won't Die

Discussion in 'MichiganWaterfowl.com' started by MC2, Oct 1, 2017.

1. MC2

MC2

I hunt geese over water, but no matter what I try, the geese simply fly away.

A bit of background - I'm an experienced deer/small game/turkey hunter, but I've never been taught how to goose hunt and this is my first year trying. I picked up 14 floating goose decoys and a dozen floating mallards for my spread, learned basic calling, and started hunting the small, sparsely populated lake I live on out of a canoe with some burlap thrown on.

I can call in small flocks without issue. I leave the decoys a max of 25 yards from me with an open shooting lane, and the geese touch down about ten yards from my spread and swim closer. I know enough to know that I'll get some hate for this, but so far I've been treating geese like turkeys and refusing to shoot on the wing, letting them swim closer and present a still target. I always aim for the head.

I'm shooting 3" shells out of a 30" Remington 870. I've tried BB steel shot with modified choke and #2 Hevi-shot with full choke. During this year's early season, I've wasted several dozen shells shooting at geese and watching them fly away with only a few feathers left behind.

I hate this. I hate the wasted time and ammo money, but I especially hate potentially wounding these birds. I plan on going out during the October to January season, but I don't want a repeat of these disasters. Any advice?

2. Far Beyond Driven

Far Beyond Driven

Too big of shot, too tight of choke. My daughter is a cripple swatter bar none, and she shoots IC choke with 2 3/4" 4's and on geese shoots where black meets gray at the base of the neck. 4's throw a wicked pattern at close range.

If you spring for hevi shot, get 6's.

Would not hurt to pattern your gun either. Shoot a round or two up close too to see if your points of aim and points of impact differ.

3. MC2

MC2