Stand up or sit in kayak?

Discussion in 'MichiganWaterfowl.com' started by GreenHead0311, Feb 1, 2018.

1. GreenHead0311

GreenHead0311

I'm looking to get a Kayak to get into some different hunting areas this year. I have plenty of experience in normal sit in kayaks, and with canoes, but I have no experience with sit on kayaks. I will be using this kayak in small to medium rivers, and some marshy areas. I also plan to do a little fishing from it, as well as plenty of summer recreational kayaking. Any input from kayak hunters or fisherman is appreciated.

2. ajkulish

ajkulish

I just got a sit on top for duck hunting this past season and its clutch. Its a 10 foot lifetime tamarack. I like the ease of getting in and out, and it feels safer in case i do capsize. But i am much less concerned about capsizing after using it a bit, as it is very very stable. It also makes it very easy to put your gun between your legs and keep it secure while you are paddling around. I havent used it for fishing yet, but it has 3 rod holders which are clutch. The storage in the hull can get a bit wet but it is very useful for large things, especially if you dont care if they get wet. (rope, dry bag, etc.) Ringing in at 220 bucks, its one of the better investments in my garage.

zzcop302 and GreenHead0311 like this.

3. SL80

SL80

I have both. My sit on is not as dry as the sit in, but it's easier to get in and out of it with waders on. The only time I prefer the sit in is for spring fishing, so I can keep my legs and feet dry.

GreenHead0311 likes this.
  4. Dubllung4

Dubllung4

I have a Jackson Kilroy and it is the best of both worlds. It is a sit in that has a ton of space, very easy to get in and out. If I am duck hunting and I am just using it for retrieval I will take the "dashboard" off so it is even easier to get in and out of.

Botiz and GreenHead0311 like this.
  5. Far Beyond Driven

Far Beyond Driven