close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Squirrel Hunting Newbie

Discussion in 'MichiganSmallGame.com' started by aandersen, Sep 11, 2017.

1. aandersen

aandersen

As the title says I am brand new to squirrel hunting and would appreciate any advice and knowledge you all would be willing to share. I have spent the last several years in college and unable to really hunt much, but I am itching to get back into the woods and thought squirrels would be a fun reintroduction. My plan was to go walk some of the public lands in Genessee and Lapeer counties. How best to work a section of woods? Should I be walking through the woods or sitting and waiting? Think of this as the complete idiot's guide to squirrel hunting....Thanks in advance

2. feedinggrounds

feedinggrounds

I find getting out early was useless, they seem to get busy about 9 and are active for a few hours then lounge around til late afternoon then are active till a bit before dusk. I combine the walk a few steps and stand next to a tree for a bit style. I will set in a good spot longer. Get out now scouting look for oaks as they are cutting nuts heavy now and debris is all over the ground. They will clean a tree quick and move to the next. Follow the food with squirrels, corn field edges a bit later in September are very good. Genesee co. has great hunting on the northern parts look for farms with patches of woods and treed fence lines. Some of my best hunting and biggest squirrels came from Mt Morris rd/ M15 Otisville area good mix of farmland and mast trees.

stickbow shooter and cdacker like this.

3. stickbow shooter

stickbow shooter