close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

So frustrated coyote hunting

Discussion in 'Michigan Predator Hunting' started by Kwill1981, Jan 12, 2018.

1. Kwill1981

Kwill1981

I’m in my second year of coyote hunting all I know is from reading different sources and YouTube the rest being the well that didn’t work method. I really need someone who can help me learn. Maybe I’m not doing anything wrong maybe I’m doing everything wrong but at the end of the day my best result has been getting a pack to respond about 400 yards away. If anyone out there is willing to teach me I’m happy to learn heck if you want to take me out I won’t even take a gun if that’s what it takes. Please any help I can get will be appreciated I hunt in the port Huron area with my cousin who has as much experience as I do

2. jiggerjarvi

jiggerjarvi

Don’t give up! It can be VERY discouraging at times, it’s easy to say but even a reply is a successful hunt to me. I got lucky on my very first outing, called one in and missed, that hooked me on the spot.

Do you day sit, night, use lights, e caller, hand calls?
    I’m no expert, so I won’t preach, are there sign of yotes where you hunt?

Look up dates for seminars if possible, they say our Eastern coyote is the hardest to hunt, ain’t like TV where they always come in on a dead run.

3. Kwill1981

Kwill1981

I have done all types of hunts light ecaller hand caller honestly iv had better result using my primos lil doggie hand call “ learned on my own" how to do then with the icotec ecaller

4. flash5153

flash5153

Drop the cousin,,lol. Sorry to say that,,but it is already against odds of seeing a coyote when you are by yourself,,putting out all kinds of human stink. With another person you have just made it 2 times as difficult because of scent but also sight,noise.
    I think it is even worse than just twice as hard. 1 person can sneak into woods/fields much easier than 2 without being detected.

5. Kwill1981

Kwill1981