close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Shotgun opinions

Discussion in 'MichiganWaterfowl.com' started by SFC(R) B, Dec 5, 2017.

1. SFC(R) B

SFC(R) B

I am a newbie when it comes to waterfowl hunting (I have hunted geese out here about 5 times) and have been borrowing guns from the folks I have tagged along with. I want to get my own this year and am looking for a good 3.5 capable pump. Right now a Benelli SuperNova is the front runner....looking for opinions on this gun and other options.

2. DecoySlayer

DecoySlayer

Most pump shotguns will do you well. I am not all that sure that 3.5" is as important as it once was. Mainly you should get what you can afford, make sure it fits, and shoot it a lot before the next season.

3. AaronJohn

AaronJohn

Everyone will tell you exactly what they shoot and why it's the best.

So I will to: Remington versamax, fairly affordable and very reliable

Sent from my iPhone using Michigan Sportsman

roger15055 and rcleofly like this.
  4. AaronJohn

AaronJohn

I will also say for geese it's hard to argue against more bb's in a pattern with 3 1/2

Sent from my iPhone using Michigan Sportsman

PA BUCK 2 likes this.
  5. ajkulish

ajkulish

Dont get the supernova. My buddy bought one last year to be his duck gun, and he has yet to kill a duck with it. It always jams for some reason, unless you just douse it in oil every time you go out. IMO, just get an 870. I have an H&R Pardner pump (200 bucks) that has served me very well as a duck killer, kayak paddle, and walking stick. Plus having a cheap gun makes you not feel bad when you drop it in the mud or water. Considering you are new to the sport, you will be doing this in the near future. Food for thought.

John Pelfrey and don novicki like this.
  6. AaronJohn

AaronJohn

Thumbs up to the 870 super mag in synthetic. But you may as well come up with few Hundo and get the V3

Sent from my iPhone using Michigan Sportsman mobile app

jrose likes this.