Michigan Sportsman Forum banner

Seven!

2K views 15 replies 7 participants last post by  OUTSIDE-FUN 
#1 ·
Wanted to share a cool story I had happen last Friday. Also maybe get some advice on where we went wrong. I have been coyote hunting for 3 years now but this is my first year doing it without someone else showing me the ropes and making my own setups hunting my own properties.

The field we were in is about 300yds long and 100 yds wide running North South the long way. Road we walked in from is on the North end and there is a power line on the South end with long grasses and then a hay field. Thin fence row with trees on the east side and a low lying swampy wooded area on our west. There is a hill that runs East West about 100yds south of the road that prevents you from seeing the back 200yds of the field. We setup about a third of the way down the south side of the hill so we could see the rest of the field and yet were not skylined. On the other side of the power lines from east to west there is a wood lot then the hay field then another wood lot. We had an east wind with a slight south to it about 3-4mph. So any scent should be going towards the swamp and slightly the road. Call setup 30yds out and slightly to our east.