Remington Core Lokt miss-fire

Discussion in 'Michigan Whitetail Deer Hunting' started by dewy6068, Dec 26, 2018.

1. dewy6068

dewy6068

C1E7F4E3-D2E0-4810-8BD8-1066F06E4204.jpeg This is a first for me! I’ve been shooting these bullets for almost 20 years and never had one fail to fire! Tonight my wife was doe hunting with her 30-06 with 150 grain core lokt PSP bullets and when she pulled the trigger on a big doe just 40 yds away all it did was click! Needless to say, she is not happy and never did get a shot off at her.

I read on here a week or 2 ago that someone else had a similar issue...anyone else have these issues with this round recently?

sureshot006 likes this.
  2. Tilden Hunter

Tilden Hunter

There was an earlier thread about just this topic. What you're showing looks like a borderline light hit, meaning maybe the gun, maybe the ammo, to me.

3. monkman

monkman

Been shooting that and the Winchester 150 grain for about 10 years...no issues what so ever.

Sent from my VS995 using Tapatalk

4. Ranger Ray

Ranger Ray Smells like, Victory! Premium Member

I had the same this year. First time ever. Have shot 12 rounds of Federal after issue, no problem. No doubt in my mind, in my case, it's the bullets.

5. graybeard

graybeard

Look at that primer,doesn't look like it is seated right.

Chessieman likes this.
  6. sureshot006

sureshot006 Staff Member Mod

Although I completely agree, it doesn't look seated right... no way you can really tell by that pic. It APPEARS raised when it should be very slightly recessed but I think the pic is deceiving.

Now the firing pin strike does appear a bit off center.

7. Pelican257R

Pelican257R

X2 on the improperly seated primer. May not have fully engaged the anvil.
    The firing pin strike also looks a little weak.
    I trust Federal much more than W or R.

Doghouse 5 likes this.
  8. sureshot006

What about it appears not seated properly?