close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Recommmended Reading

Discussion in 'FlyTyingForums.com, Fly Tying, Trout Fishing' started by gunrod, Feb 28, 2007.

1. gunrod

gunrod Mods

I received a PM that requested a Sticky that Recommended Reading pertaining to Fly Fishing/Tying. It's a sound idea that is long over due.

With that said, please post any reading you recommend and a couple lines summarizing why you liked it. Did the book provide adequate instructions or illustrations? Was it just some good reading regarding classic tales? Maybe it had stream recommendations or was great reference material.

Also post any reading you do not recommend and why. Maybe someone else can save a few bucks.

2. Bob T

Bob T

Well, I have been flyfishing and tying for many years and have purchased many books but far and away the best book around for tying is" The Fly Tier's Benchside Reference" by Leeson and Schollmeyer. Not a pattern book per say but if anyone is interested in starting to tie this is the book that I would purchase. Well illustrated with informative pictures detailing the steps involved in just about any tying procedure. A bit pricey but well worth the money for both the new and advanced tier.

The other books that I would recommend on the emtomology side of things is "Hatches" by Caucci/Nastasi and "Caddisflies" by Gary LaFontaine. You cannot go wrong with either of these great books for finding out about the life cycles of these insects. Both of these books include what stream conditions and how these insects hatch and offer patterns pertaining to their information.

Bob

UPaquariest likes this.

3. geojasstef

geojasstef

Last edited by a moderator: Jun 30, 2015
  4. axisgear

axisgear

I would have to add a few books for the avid fly fisherman/woman.Three are not directly related to tying or flyfishing information.Well,maybe a little.