close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Property Feedback

Discussion in 'Michigan Whitetail Deer Hunting' started by lucicarli, Jan 12, 2018.

1. lucicarli

lucicarli

Happy New Year to all
    I do not post often but I am looking for some feedback in regards to property I have been hunting for a few years now. I consider this a transition/feeding type of property. It consists of roughly 40 acres. Based on the photo you see what are your thoughts on how you would hunt this parcel. One of the main issues has always been accessing stands without spooking/scenting the area.(predominant winds have not made for easy access) I am finally considering some small food plots but only in ideal locations. The parcel has been surveyed this past year which has opened up the entire east end of property. This has never been hunted by me..(the trespassing neighbors have had a good time with it though). Knowing that I can now access the back side(east side) of this creek should really improve my situation. Crop fields are rotated annually with either beans or corn. Pine stands have been thinned and are providing some good cover. However, as you can see by image much, most, if not all of the bedding is happening on adjacent properties and/or in creek bottom. Those properties receive little bowhunting pressure...and some gun. Dotted lines represent most used deer trails. Back side of pine stands, ridge and creek are mostly beech, hickory and oak. I have opened up some of the canopy the past few years by cutting/hinge cutting many maple/box elder, etc.... In addition, I have created a decent edge around the perimeter of the crop fields with some hinge cutting. The deer have responded well to that. With that being said I appreciate your insight as to how you would access property, improve property along with stand placement. Thanks for your time and thoughts. Be well!

https://drive.google.com/file/d/19pJTjO49Jv3eQ-PTgruoTnfg-S1rYrik/view?usp=sharing