Pin Rod Questions

Discussion in 'Center Pin Fishing' started by RiverWallies101, Nov 24, 2017.

1. RiverWallies101

RiverWallies101

Hi guys I am new to center pin fishing and am torn between getting an 11"6 or 13"6. I do most of my steelhead fishing on the white and grand so ideally I would like to have one of each. Due to the fact that I do not have enough money for one of each I was just looking for some input on what I should get. So the question is would I be better off fishing a rod a little to short on the grand or a rod to long on the white? Also if anyone has a pin rod for sale I would be very interested, my budget is about $200.
    Thanks- pete

2. flyrodder46

flyrodder46

Pete, first of all let me welcome you to a great source of info.:Welcome: I too would be torn on the size, everyone says big river big rod, small river small rod, but that is not always the case. If you are strictly bank/wade fishing then I would go with the old adage, but since you are asking for 1 rod for two different types of rivers, I think I would go with the longer of the two rods. If you do a lot of boat fishing then the shorter would work just fine. There is one other option that you might look at, the Shimano Clarus comes in a 11' and 13' version and normally you can find them for about $99 so you would have the two different rods and still stay in your budget. They are not the best rods in the world but will do a fine job if used right. The 13' version was my first back up rod for Salmon and I still have and use it each year. The Clarus also is a sliding ring type rod and gives you a chance to experiment with reel placement for your most comfortable feel of a rod.

D

3. slightofhand

slightofhand