Need Help Choosing a Center Pin Line

Discussion in 'Center Pin Fishing' started by FishingWithDom, Apr 10, 2018.

1. FishingWithDom

FishingWithDom

What center pin line do y'all use? I am new to this concept of fishing, so I would like to get the right gear in order before I really dive into it. I have been told 50/50 reviews on the Hydrofloat by P-Line. Thanks for any insight.

2. Riverdude

Riverdude

15 lb Raven. Cheap. Behaves well. I like pink.

Sparky23 likes this.

3. AdamBradley

AdamBradley

Hydro float is good in concept - if you like braid. I prefer mono. I just can’t get the feel down for braid and even pop 12 lb leader on the hookset when fishing for kings. Also with that particular braid, as soon as you scuff the coating, it loses a lot of strength. My line of choice for the last year has been gamma copoly. (not many pin guys run it, I really like how it behaves in all aspects) I ran sunline fine float ii before that, if you take the sunline route go at least 16lb (it’s a thin diameter line). Gamma I have been running 14. Sufix siege is also preferred by many. Fine float floats the highest and mends the easiest of those 3. I’ve never run the raven line but have heard very mixed opinions.

4. AdamBradley

AdamBradley

5. flyrodder46

flyrodder46

I have been using Suffix Siege and/or ProMix 10# for a couple of years and find it works fine. Both are supple and strong with good knot strength. Tried the Blood Run and also like it, floats well and mends just great. Just remember that the BR is rated high, I tried 10# and had it break with 6# leader. Switched to the 15# mainline and have not had a problem.

6. Corey K

Corey K

10 or 12 lb test clear Stren, buy some fly floatant and treat your line that will help. Stren is nice and cheap.

Treven likes this.
  7. steelheadpinner

steelheadpinner