need gunsmith help

Discussion in 'Firearms' started by boomer_x7, Jan 7, 2009.

1. boomer_x7

boomer_x7

I have a marlin 925 22. mag i have been working on. I have glass bedded the action, recoil lug and free floated the barrel. After shooting it and not getting the groups i wanted i figured a pressure bed would probobly be better. so i took a peice of leather moved it around and found what was the best spot for the barrel. But it still wasn't shootin right. My groups were about an inch at 40 yards. But the group would be two bullets in one hole, an inch over two in another. So the result would look like a bunch of 2 shot groups with in an inch. Well to day i started playing with the recoil screw. I loosened it up and barrely tightened it. I put 2 bullets in one hole. Then my gloves i was leaning on moved so i reset my position with the gloves closer to the action. 2 shots= 2 flyers. so i sat and thought about what i did different ( moving the front rest) moved it back to the front of the forearm and put 2 more in the same hole as before. About 1/4 inch hole. So my question is what is a permanent fix for this. :help:

Last edited: Jan 7, 2009
  2. Critter

Critter

Well if it was mine I would play with the pressure bed some more or bed the entire barrel. Some guns prefer that to a freefloat. Have you tried every brand of ammo you could get your hands on?

3. hunt-n-fool

hunt-n-fool

I would consider putting some type of wedge/shim on the front of the barrel to try out, and use a rest that is more toward the rear of the gun ( as opposed to the front ).

I agree that this shouldnt be a factor with the bedding, but I would try it anyways.

I might also try another source of ammo.

The barrel isnt likely to be heating up is it ?

4. boomer_x7

boomer_x7