Need cover for fire pit

Discussion in 'Michigan Homesteading and Home Improvement' started by Old Whaler, Oct 10, 2020.

1. Old Whaler

Old Whaler

As part of the brick patio I've been working on, I added a built in fire pit.
    Pit 1.jpg

I'd like to have a round dome or metal cover that will fit inside the round screen and drop down over the coals to (hopefully) snuff them out, or at least prevent embers from flying around.

Pit 2.jpg

Inside diameter of the screen is just under 29" to clear the bolt heads that hold it together.

I'm a carpenter, but I've got no experience with metal work.

Any ideas out there?

2. Nostromo

Nostromo Premium Member

Check with whoever manufactured your fire pit surround.

Looks nice by the way.

Old Whaler likes this.

3. R.J.M.

R.J.M.

Small metal trash can lid may work
    Or a 55 or 30 gal drum with a few inches of water left over winter outside to create the dome when it freezes then cut to size with a sawzal

Old Whaler likes this.
  4. Petronius

Petronius Premium Member

A 55 gallon steel drum is 24" in diameter. Cut it above the first ring from the bottom, flip it over, and bolt a handle on the bottom. It should fit inside the fire ring.
    I have a question about using small stone in the bottom of the pit. How easy will it be to clean out the ashes? It might be better to have a smooth surface, like from patio blocks.

Old Whaler likes this.
  5. Old Whaler

Old Whaler

Thanks. It's been a lot of work but very enjoyable and I'm really happy with how it's shaping up. For the cover I'm hoping to find something more aesthetically pleasing than the end of a barrel, even if it costs me some money.

That's crushed concrete over sand, compacted with a hand tamper. It's a lot flatter and smoother than it looks. One more layer and it will be hard, smooth, and flush with the tops of the blocks all the way around.

6. jimbo

jimbo

All I can think of is going to a tin shop and have something fabricated out of sheet metal.