MSP (or other police agencies in Michigan) and game laws

Discussion in 'Questions about MI Hunting/Fishing Law' started by andyotto, Nov 5, 2020.

1. andyotto

andyotto

My buddy and I were having a friendly debate on the differences in authority of police agencies over game laws. Either all or some game laws. We found and knew that DNR officers can enforce state laws. Our question was does it go the other way as well. For example can a MSP officer measure a fish for length or even search your car for suspected hunting violations under probable cause. We found that in California they cannot but couldn't find anything about Michigan. Any ideas?
    Thanks

2. jd4223

jd4223

I was a Detroit cop for 25 years and we had the authority to issue tickets for no fishing license and various other game and fish violations. Never issued any tickets but would always joke with the guys fishing the Detroit River from the bank. I worked Palmer Park(12th Precinct) W. 7mile/Woodward and there was a pond in the park with fish in it(Carp/Sunfish) and the residents would fish it without a fishing license. I would ask them for a license and when they couldn't produce 1 I would tell them to give me their fishing pole and then proceed to show them how to catch the carp. I would buy popcorn from the concession stand near the park and chum the pond with the popcorn and then put popcorn on the hook and proceed to catch carp impressing the locals...lol Had a complaint 1 time of a guy catching pigeons and putting them in a sack. Asked the guy what he planned to do with the pigeons..told me he was going to eat them. Told him I didn't think so and made him let the birds go. Also caught a guy hunting squirrels with a 22 in the woods in the park..locked him up and then caught a guy shooting racoons at night and locked him up. So local police have the authority to enforce fish and game laws.

Hammer62, Nostromo, Spartan88 and 7 others like this.

3. andyotto

andyotto