close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Michigan Resident with a Hunter Safety from a Different State

Discussion in 'General Michigan Hunting' started by Dimner, Feb 1, 2018.

1. Dimner

Dimner

Good afternoon,

In my early thirties, before I started hunting in the State of Michigan, I used to drive out to a friend's place in Texas. I was a Michigan resident at the time. We camped and hiked and he did a bit of hunting. Later trip I took a hunter safety course there and did some hunts. So I have a Texas hunter safety cert.

Fast forward a few years, and I was no longer able to make those long drives to Texas. But the hunting bug had me locked in!

So when I first started hunting here, I learned that hunter safety certificates from different states are valid in Michigan. So I was all set.

Then other day, I'm on another forum and there is a bloke from the UK coming to the US to do some hunting out west, not sure what state, but a state that has similar rules as Michigan. This state out west does not recognize the UK's certificate system, so he takes an online course for the Texas hunters safety. This course requires no field day.

So here's where I am going with this. I know CO's will check to see if the people they contact while on patrol have kill tags and if they have had Hunter's Safety. How am I going to show up in the system? I have my Texas card somewhere. I don't carry it. I have been reading the Bi-Weekly reports and now realize I should find that card and carry it. Is this whole Texas online certificate with no field day a loop hole in the system?

2. The Rev.

The Rev.

If you’ve purchased hunting licenses in Michigan since you've been back from Texas your information should be in the system that you’d already passed. Thats why you only need your DL now

3. HUBBHUNTER

HUBBHUNTER