Lyme Disease

Discussion in 'Wildlife Diseases' started by anon5709, Mar 10, 2009.

1. anon5709

anon5709

Hello everyone!!

I am relatively new to this site and the sport of hunting but have been battling Lyme Disease the past 3 years of my life. Due to the tremendous toll this illness has taken on my life and due to the amount of sportsmen and women I am coming across who do not know much about Lyme Disease or whom have many questions, I have decided to post some basic info. I hope that this information will reach and help at least one person who has or knows of someone who may have been bitten by an infected tick. If I can reach only one person and help them find more info about Lyme, my goal has been met!

Disclaimer: I am a nurse, but not a doctor!! I am in no way, shape, or form attempting to offer medical advice or diagnose anyone with Lyme Disease or any other disease!!

Feel free to post a reply or contact me or any other the other resources at the end of this thread if you have any additional questions or have any comments.

What is Lyme Disease?
    Lyme Disease (abbreviated LD in this thread) is a spirochetal bacterial infection that is thought to be transmitted predominately the bite of the Ixodes Scapularis tick, commonly referred to as the deer tick, as shown here-
    [​IMG]

Size of Ticks-
    [​IMG]

Other species of ticks, such as the dog tick, wood tick, Lone-star tick, rabbit tick, and biting insects such as deer flies, horse flies, and mosquitoes have been shown to carry the Lyme Disease bacteria. It is important to remember that not all ticks carry the Lyme bacteria.

Is Lyme Disease a new disease?