Livestock abandonment legal question

Discussion in 'Sound Off' started by boomer_x7, Sep 1, 2014.

1. boomer_x7

boomer_x7

Does anyone know how long before an animal (horse) is considered abandoned? I know we have a few lawyers that hang around here. Anyone willing to let me ask them a few questions on this matter?

2. I'm not a lawyer, but I would think that as long as the animal has access to water, fodder and shelter...it would not be considered abandoned. Just because the owner of the animal, which is his or her property, doesn't check on it everyday doesn't mean it’s abandon.

Now, if it was/is neglected...such as denied medical attention or starvation issues…then that's a whole different story and set of circumstances.
    [/COLOR]
    If you could please define what makes you think this animal is abandon...that would help some.

Last edited by a moderator: Jun 30, 2015

3. boomer_x7

boomer_x7

Its an issue where one person claims to own the animal (claims to have proof of purchase but havnt seen it) but hasnt had anything to do with it in a year. Basically they left the household (not a divorse) and left the animal. The person still living there has taken care of the animal but the person claiming ownership has not done anything for or about the animal. (physically or finacially).

I know with other property there is an amount of time before it is considered abandoned. Not sure with animals especially horses as their seems to always be special laws for horses...

4. bigcountrysg

bigcountrysg

Is it a horse or livestock? Horses fall under different laws than livestock.

From what it sounds like to me, is the person that has been boarding the horse now has interest in the horse. If the actual owner did not pay for boarding over this year period then the person who has boarded the horse has a vested interest.

The person boarding the horse can refuse the release of the horse to the owner til the boarding costs are covered.