close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Line and general questions

Discussion in 'FlyTyingForums.com, Fly Tying, Trout Fishing' started by North wind, Oct 24, 2017.

1. North wind

North wind

I'm new to fly fishing. Looking at a St. Croix Avid 9' 5wt for brookies. Any line recommendations? I was looking at Rio but not sure which one.

Also looking at putting a Waterworks Lamson Guru 2 on it. Would it balance alright? Reel is 4.58 Oz, rod is 3.6 Oz. Any other general recommendations? I'm not dead set on anything yet.

Thanks!

2. PunyTrout

PunyTrout

Depending on the type of water you like to fish, 9 feet might be a bit long yet certainly suitable for larger streams.

If you like to fish smaller brushy streams consider a much shorter rod. The types of flies you want to fish with will help to determine your choice as well. I you intend to only fish with nymphs and dries, opt for a shorter rod. If you are considering streamers, opt for the longer rod.

North wind likes this.

3. North wind

North wind

Thanks for the info! I was considering shorter. what length would you recommend? I'm thinking mainly dries and nymph's.

4. flyrodder46

flyrodder46

If I had to have one rod for small streams, it would be a 7-7 1/2' 4wt, no longer than a 8'. If you have larger fish then maybe a 5wt. As for the line it would depend a lot on the type of area (tree choked, open) that you fish. I normally like a WF line, but if you are going to be doing a lot of short roll casting then maybe a DT line. From 3M my favorites would be the GPX Mastery Series DT or the XXD WF line. Just my 2cw but hope this helps a little. Do a search on small stream fishing and you should be able to find a lot of info that might help.

D

North wind and Gamechanger like this.
  5. North wind

North wind

Thanks a bunch flyrodder46!

6. jd4223

jd4223