Leupold VX-Freedom Bushmaster 450 Scope

Discussion in 'Rifles' started by goodworkstractors, Nov 24, 2018.

1. goodworkstractors

goodworkstractors

I just purchased a left-handed Ruger American Ranch Bushmaster 450 with a Leupold VX-Freedom Bushmaster 450 Scope. I purchased over the phone from Randy's Hunting Center and had it transferred to a local shop near me.

Long story short, I'm brand new to this scope and its bullet drop compensation dial. I think I understand how to operate it correctly, but hoping someone else could confirm or point me in the right direction. It has the elevation adjustment dial that is configured for the Bushmaster 450 250gr FTX 2200FPS which is the ammo I purchased.

Should I site this in dead on at 100 yards? If so, does this mean I can simply rotate the dial to the "2" if shooting 200 yards and aim right at my target?

Has this type of system proven to be highly accurate?

Thanks in advance!

2. Ken

Ken

Correct. If you go to Youtube, there is a video of Randy shooting one with a CDS dial at 100, 200, and 300 yards. It is a Michigan Out of Doors TV segment

3. goodworkstractors

goodworkstractors

Thanks for the help! I haven't had a chance to watch the video yet, but did get to the range. Got it dialed in and it was very easy to use. Heading out this afternoon before the storm comes in. I'm ready for a field test!

4. Ken

Ken

I just got the same gun from Randy in early October. Was hoping for a stainless, but that's a no-go in lefty. Did you add a brake? I did order a brake from a company in Idaho. I also had the stock camo dipped, and the metal Cerakoted for weather protection.
    It worked well on two deer so far.

5. goodworkstractors

goodworkstractors

Sorry, I totally forgot to get back to you.

I did not add a break to mine. I like my stock in the FDE color, but do want to cerakote my barrel. I'm gonna have to do that this off season for sure. How much did you pay to have that done?