Huron River Steelhead 2017/18

Discussion in 'South East Michigan Streams and Rivers' started by happydj, Sep 27, 2017.

1. happydj

happydj

Went to an unnamed Huroc Park in Flat Rock on Sunday. Water is probably the lowest I have ever seen it. I was swinging a small chart and white clouser minnow and manged to catch a shad, guessing it bumped my clouser. Saw some gills come out from a guy with a small inline spinner and that was it.

need some serious rain and temp drops to get this party started.

2. jd4223

jd4223

I've been fishing the river every Sunday now for the past 2 months. I think the dam at Bellville has been shut off. If you really want to kill the fish(3" bluegills and 4" bass),cross the foot bridge and walk down stream towards Telegragh and fish directly across from the canoe rental. Use any type of size 12 and smaller nymph or my favorite,rubber spider. You can catch a fish on every cast. The water may be up to 2' deep there so use caution and wear your life jacket...lol. As a bonus you can watch the fish attack your fly being it's so shallow! I hope I won't get banned now and everybody will be lining up to fish this secret spot. I don't know what's going to happen come the late fall and winter. The only way we would have a chance at any fish would be to put a boat in at the the mouth of the river and work our way upstream.

leon1952 and Aaronjeep2 like this.

3. Fishndude

Fishndude

I live in Belleville, and the Huron is as low as I have ever seen it - for most of the last 2 months. The dam is flowing, but not much.

Unnamed Huroc Park. I know of a park with that name. :lol:

happydj and Aaronjeep2 like this.
  4. jjc155

jjc155