Having issue with braided line

Discussion in 'Tackle Talk' started by Filthygoat96, Aug 31, 2020.

1. Filthygoat96

Filthygoat96

I am new to musky fishing and recently purchased a bass pro brand musky rod, fairly priced and bought 40lb braid. Line kept getting frayed and breaking. Ended up hooking a really nice musky had it by the boat then it took off and snapped my line. Bought some 65lb suffix 832 and its seems to be fraying as well. Did it on 2 different baitcasting reels and the rod is brand new, I checked the eyes with a qtip and didnt notice any cracks or burs so any input on how I can fix this line fraying would be great.

Last edited: Aug 31, 2020
    on a call likes this.
  2. piketroller

piketroller

Is everything that comes off the reel in-use fraying or just the last couple feet? Are you casting or trolling? Pulling the against reeds or the edge of the boat or something else? 40 pound is probably way too light if you are using traditional sized muskie lures. 65 pound is generally the minimum you want with 80 or 100 being options.

Without any other information, I’d say one of the guides on the rod would be the prime suspect. Inspect them thoroughly.

tincanary and sureshot006 like this.

3. on a call

on a call

I would think you looked at your guides....one little crack will cause you a headache. I know.

As mentioned...is the whole line or just the end.

4. sureshot006

sureshot006 Staff Member Mods

Tip 1. Sounds funny but take a pair of pantyhose (aquire them in a non creepy way) and run it through the guides of the rod. Should not snag up. You may have a rough spot or crack.

Tip 2. 80# minimum for musky casting.

Personal Business likes this.
  5. tincanary

tincanary

You can use a Qtip and run it around the guides. If you see any cotton coming off, take the rod back and exchange it.

Shoeman, on a call and sureshot006 like this.
  6. sureshot006

sureshot006 Staff Member Mods

Oh come on... i wanted him to go buy some pantyhose lol