Handheld GPS

Discussion in 'Upland Game hunting, Dogs and dog training' started by donald1, Oct 16, 2020.

1. donald1

donald1

I'm relatively new to upland bird hunting. I don't have a dog, and that's ok. I just enjoy busting brush, and getting an occasional shot. My wife gets nervous having me hunting alone, and is insisting I get a handheld GPS. So what's a good entry level unit for me to look at? Most of my hunting is done in the Northern Lower and once or twice a year in the U.P.

2. birdhntr

birdhntr

I would take a compass class which I was going to do but the evening classes at the community education center are on hold.I would like to understand how to use my compass properly because it always works as it doesn't rely on a power source.My astro 430 tracks so I use it occasionally in new territory when I go exploring.
    If you plan on getting a dog in the future you could get one.Then you wouldn't buy a similar product twice
    Smart watches also have capabilities for this.
    This one is popular and has good reviews Screenshot_20201017-052905_Chrome.jpg

fivegunner and 6Speed like this.

3. FullQuiver

FullQuiver

Just use your phone. They are a handheld GPS and with one of several apps available offer many flexible features.

Btw, no cell coverage is necessary for your gps features to work. Plus with Apps like Onx you can preload maps of areas you intend to hunt and have even detailed land ownership, forestry activities, fire history, topography among other features.. Handheld GPS really don't have any upsides to your phone. IMHO...

4. wpmisport

wpmisport

This is interesting. So you do not need cell coverage for these apps to work? You are not using any data when you leave this app running all day? Thanks.

5. FullQuiver

FullQuiver