Got a Colville Centerpin Reel for Chrimmis

Discussion in 'Center Pin Fishing' started by flowie, Dec 30, 2019.

1. flowie

flowie

Long story short, I have been fishing with spinning gear and baitcasters for 20 yrs. spinner and spoons, bottom bouncing, plunking, float fishing basically any method.

Wife asked me what I wanted for Christmas, I sent her a link to a Colville centerpin, thinking she would just buy me slippers and be done with it.

So I got the pin..I put it on a 10ft 6 float rod just to practice my casting until I could buy something more suitable.

I like Lamiglas...and I see they make the Redline Centerspin. I did a search here and couldnt find much feedback on it. Is it good?

Bloodrun makes a Skein Cane...which is cheaper in price, but I get the impression it is pretty soft and limber.

Anyone have thoughts about these two rods in terms of quality, but also how they would be for a novice casting? I spent about 4 hours on the river Sunday....lets just say at this point I am not much of a threat to fish or other fishermen. I think I managed to make 6 casts I could actually get a decent drift on.
    I fish mostly medium to bigger water, mostly wading or on shore, but occasionally from a boat and rarely with trees in the way.

Last edited: Dec 30, 2019
  2. anticipation

anticipation

I have 2 Bloodrun rods one older I believe it’s an rx8 blank and a newer one that is a Bloodrun blank very happy with both of them .havent used the one your looking at but you might consider taking a look at nova rods probably a good place to start . Never fished a lamiglass so can’t help there either

Sparky23 and FISHDOCTOR like this.

3. flyrodder46

flyrodder46