Frustrated

Discussion in 'MichiganTurkey.com' started by michiganhunter2001, May 13, 2018.

1. michiganhunter2001

michiganhunter2001

I'm a 17 y/o novice turkey hunter and yesterday was my first outing alone. I did everything i could think of, set up my blind the night before, was in my blind at 4:45, and was hunting a nice field that my uncle owns. I called in a nice tom from around 300 yards away to about 50 yards, but I just couldn't get him to come in the next 10 or 15 yards. Just about want to throw my calls in the woods at the moment, so frustrating!

Sent from my SM-G930VL using Michigan Sportsman mobile app

2. DEDGOOSE

DEDGOOSE

Welcome to the addiction.. Pop two xanax call me in the morning lol

3. backstrap bill

backstrap bill

itchn2fish and Gobblerman like this.
  4. Buck city bowhunter

Buck city bowhunter

Keep at em bro. Maybe try a different call to sound like a different hen. sometimes they respond to clear & crisp sometimes raspy

Also make sure your completely covered any light colored skin will be contrasting against the spring green .

Good luck post em up when you shoot em!

itchn2fish likes this.
  5. old graybeard

old graybeard

Slow and easy Grasshopper :) Good things take time and practice.

6. birdhntr

birdhntr

If you have a decoy out maybe adding a strutted May finish him out.Sometimes no decoy works well.Or do what I do and set up outside the blind 50 yards away and don't move.Turkey's get decoy and blind why so to speak.I've seen them go around and avoid blinds on numerous occasions.

TriggerDiscipline and itchn2fish like this.
  7. Just Lucky

Just Lucky