Double bead presentation and snell knots

Discussion in 'Center Pin Fishing' started by Steve, Jan 25, 2020.

1. Steve

Steve Staff Member Admin

I wondering if any of you tie in the top hook of a double bead presentation with a tag end long enough to snell the bottom hook as well. Then you would have to tie the bottom bead in at the same time you snell the bottom hook.

Seems like it would make for an excellent presentation with the line running straight down the whole rig.

Do any of you tie up sets of two hooks like this with bead of various colors ahead of time? If so how do you store them so its not a tangled mess?

Last edited: Jan 25, 2020
  2. flyrodder46

flyrodder46

I have never tied a double bag setup. I have tied double beads though, and just store them on a piece of foam until needed.

1MoreKast likes this.

3. Steve

Steve Staff Member Admin

Sorry, I meant beads. I edited my post.

4. 101thwacK

101thwacK

I am no expert Steve so take that for what its worth, but what you describe is exactly how I do my double bead. Long tag end from snelled knot on the top hook down to the second with another snelled knot. I have never lost a fish on the bottom hook due to the top knot breaking. I do not pre-tie my rigs, but if i did I think I would store them the same as my crawler harnesses.

[​IMG]

I have caught fish on the top and bottom bead, but the bottom bead catches 80% of my fish. I have started to wonder if running my shot pattern down to where my first hook would normally be and then running a single bead 12-18 inches below would be more beneficial? My reasoning is that if 80% of my bites are coming closer to bottom, maybe this would hold that lower bead in the strike zone better than having twice that much line after the last weight possibly allowing 2 beads to be floating higher in the water column? Or are those other 20% of fish ones I wouldn't catch at all if i was only running one bead? Something I plan on experimenting with this year.