Detroit River Shallow Water Bite

Discussion in 'Detroit River and Lake Erie' started by phawksmulder, Oct 21, 2020.

1. phawksmulder

phawksmulder

I'm quite new to fishing the area. I've seen most people have success in the river fishing the deeper water (including the shore fishers like myself). I know a lot of lakes tend to have more species tucking up into shallower territory during cold water conditions. Is that something people target in the river? Any info would be greatly appreciated.

In general, I'm targeting walleye but, I'm also just looking to have a good time and explore new territory so I'm open to catching any species if there are some good suggestions.

2. carp assassin

carp assassin

Yes the walleye will go shallow in the river. they will go really shallow in the spring (as shallow as a couple feet). In the fall they will also go shallow but I’ve had better success in mid depth break lines. The later it gets in the year your better off trolling st Clair or Erie

phawksmulder likes this.

3. phawksmulder

phawksmulder

What would you call mid-depth, if you don't mind me asking? 15-20ft? Is it still a certain times of day thing like earlier in the year or would it be reasonable to cast in 3-10ft of water in the afternoon? I don't have boat access so unfortunately I have to plan my spots pretty carefully haha

I assume the spring shallow run is staging for spawn.

4. carp assassin

carp assassin

There are a few Canadian you tube shore fisherman who do well in the fall. From shore you have to work with what you got. I personally would cast on an 45 degree angle down current and slowly bounce the jig back to you. Not sure of many spots but I know guys do well at the park by alter rd from shore

Waif and phawksmulder like this.
  5. Jon Bondy

Jon Bondy

Walleye will act like bass more often than people think, as far as depths and lures they’ll chase. Approach it from that mindset and you might be surprised!

6. Sir Walter

Sir Walter