CWD Announcement from Pennsylvania

Discussion in 'Whitetail Deer Disease' started by otcarcher, Feb 11, 2019.

1. otcarcher

otcarcher Banned

Many of us have spoken about the prion disease research that Frank Bastian has conducted. This Public Announcement video from PA is either going to be a Nobel Prize winning finding, or it's a scientific overstep money grab of epic proportions. I hope he wins the Nobel Prize.

2. sureshot006

sureshot006 Staff Member Mods

Well it's a profit er I mean non profit organization or, if the presentation is any hint, disorganization... the monopoly guy could have at least straightened his sweet mustache lol.

I guess when I started playing the video I thought there would be some good information. Maybe I missed it because it was sort of hard to watch.

Spike sacrifice and DirtySteve like this.

3. A lot of potential good information on a lot of different diseases but how in the hell will they vaccinate all the wild deer I understand the captive deer but sorry I’m not buying they will eradicate it by vaccinating the wild deer.

mattawanhunter and Sparky23 like this.
  4. sureshot006

If a vaccine is possible, it would be just like vaccines for people. So long as a majority gets it, the prevalence goes down dramatically. Probably would have to be given through bait stations.

U of M Fan and Sparky23 like this.
  5. otcarcher

otcarcher Banned

That is my thought as well. Who would have thought a practice known to spread disease could actually prevent it as well? I'm cautiously optimistic. My biggest concern is that nobody else that I know of has been able to duplicate his results. That's a big red flag for me.

That said....his spiroplasm bacteria theory makes far more sense to me than just some rogue proteins randomly causing the disease. I still feel prions and prion aggregation are the "symptom" of the disease, not the cause. We will find out soon. Hopefully he is right.