Can you offer any info on this gun?

Discussion in 'Firearm Identification/Value' started by harpo1, Jun 10, 2012.

1. harpo1

harpo1

A very close friend of mine recently passed away and I was fortunate enough to be given a couple of his guns for my own. One of them came with all the documentation, but I'd like to gather some info on this gun. I am not a gun expert at all but I was told that it was a Winchester Model 70 (pre 64). The only ID I can find on the gun is the name "O'Hellioth & Co .270" scribed on the barrel and also what may be a serial number of 605430. Here are a few pics...

Overall, the gun is in very nice shape. The stock is in nice shape and the blueing has the "normal" fine scratches but nothing deep. The action is smooth and tight. I am not interested in selling the gun but would love to find out an estimated value for my records.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. tallbear

tallbear

I believe what you have is a custom barreled model 70 by O.H. Elliott &Co.

3. harpo1

harpo1

Thanks for the info. I'll see if I can find anything on that O.H. Elliott & Co.

4. malainse

malainse Staff Member Super Mod Mods

Found the below information on another website. True or not I do not know ? Just trying to help you out. He was from South Haven,Mi

A picture of barrel that I found had the "O.H Elliott" stamped on the barrel. This one is done with some type of engraver ? If it is a "Elliott" barrel it could be an early one ?

Either way it is a nice rifle and great gift to cherish forever.

----------
    In the 1930s, gunsmith and entrepreneur O.H.Elliot sought to satisfy the demand for double rifles in the United States by importing custom made rifles which he chambered for his own series of Express cartridges. Made from 405 Winchester brass, the series consisted of the .277, .303, and 357 Calibers.