Best Starter Reel

Discussion in 'Center Pin Fishing' started by SkunkCity, Jun 22, 2019.

1. SkunkCity

SkunkCity

What do you think is the best reel for beginners? I don't want to spend any more than $300 to start. I will be using this reel on an 11' 3" Shimano Clarus.
    Thank you!

2. eggfly

eggfly

You cannot go wrong with a Matrix XL. I’ve had mine for 7 years and have experienced no issues. What ever reel you go with make sure to purchase a reel cover.

Treven likes this.

3. AdamBradley

AdamBradley

I second the matrix xl. I suggest the solid back plate, and upgrading it to some boca bearings.... I saw the aftermath of a teen getting is finger somehow thru the backplate of a ported one while hooked up on a king.... not something I’d want to experience!

Could also look at used reels. Might be able to find a good deal, and nearly all sellers of centerpin reels are very straight shooters about condition.

Treven and eggfly like this.
  4. SkunkCity

SkunkCity

Thanks for the advice, guys. I used one of those when I went on a charter a few months ago and really liked the reel.

5. flyrodder46

flyrodder46

SkunkCity likes this.
  6. wyandot

wyandot

I agree with the above. I owned both the 43/4 and the 51/8 Raven Matrix special edition reels with the solid back plate. Lots and lots of them out there for a reason.

SkunkCity likes this.
  7. anticipation

anticipation

You might call Danny Colville he may have some reels in you budget,I’m very happy with his reels

SkunkCity likes this.
  8. Treven

Treven Banned

Raven Matrix Reels and the Rapala Classic Drifter are my preference low budget reels that perform excellent.

SkunkCity and eggfly like this.
  9. SkunkCity

SkunkCity

Thanks for the advice everyone. I ordered the Raven Matrix.

What is the best way to learn to pin? Watching YouTube videos?

eggfly likes this.
  10. eggfly

eggfly

Start with short casts using about 5/8 ounce with a junk bobber. You want to feel the weight and see the bobber.