close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Beginners Trolling Setup Questions

Discussion in 'Warm Water Species Fishing' started by TheDish, May 31, 2017.

Tags:
  1. TheDish

TheDish

Hey all, I'm looking for some advice on trolling setup for walleye. I'm an avid fisherman but never have regularly targeted walleye (with the exception of river wading and a few Lake Erie Charters)

I have a 14' Sylvan Classic Fisherman with a Honda 15 HP that I recently was given and fixed up. I'm just looking to hit inland lakes. I have very little experience running planer boards and other than flat lining for some perch I'm (embarrassingly) a little clueless, this is a new world for me.

What's a basic trolling set up to employ? Where is a good starting point Rod and Reel wise and equipment? I've been reading into bottom bouncers, planer boards, or lead core line, inline sinkers etc. and not sure where to start. Thanks!

2. Drake

Drake

That makes two of us!
    Dave

TheDish likes this.

3. RobGrassmid

RobGrassmid