Beginner Centerpin Setup?

Discussion in 'Center Pin Fishing' started by Brendan N, Mar 28, 2020.

1. Brendan N

Brendan N

Hey guys, I'm relatively new to steelhead fishing. I've caught my fair share of steelhead over the past few years and I know what to use for bait. Now I'm interested in centerpin fishing and I was wondering if you guys had suggestions for a teen on a budget?

I am also interested in doing more salmon fishing this fall if anyone had tips for that.

Thanks!!

2. Brendan N

Brendan N

More specifically, I'm looking for centerpin rod/reel suggestions. Thanks!

3. anticipation

anticipation

All depends on your budget. What are you looking to spend ?there are a few for sale in the classified section that would get you started

4. Brendan N

Brendan N

I can probably save up, at most, $300. I don't need anything urgently as I am fishing the spring steelhead run right now with spinning gear but I want to get into centerpin fishing over the summer or by the time fall salmon come around.

5. anticipation

anticipation

You could pick up an Okuma for around 200 and there are a few rods for around 1 hundred. You might look at float fishing central and river rats classified there are usually some good used stuff on there

6. Brendan N

Brendan N

Ok thankyou, I will check that out.

7. Superior Outfitter

Superior Outfitter

We sell combos at the shop if your interested. $260 for a raven helix or helix XL reel and a Shimano rod. Comes with line and backing also.

LushLife likes this.
  8. bowhunter_22

bowhunter_22

Hey man look into a shimano clarus rod they are 100 bucks and great. The raven helix, okuma raw, okuma Sheffield are all right around 200 dollar reels. The okuma aventa reel is about 150 just stay away from the aventa rod it is like a wet spaghetti noodle

9. Brendan N

Brendan N

10. AdamBradley

AdamBradley