Airbrushing Novice seeking blank body baits

Discussion in 'Tackle Talk' started by Personal Business, Apr 17, 2020.

1. Personal Business

Personal Business

I’m a procrastinating newbie airbrush hack. Due to the COVID-19 I decided to start learning now how to airbrush, instead of next winter. How can I purchase unfinished body baits? Example, my buddy and I cast for muskies with Super Shad Raps with very good results. I have (IMO) unique ideas for airbrushing many musky patterns that I’d like to apply to unfinished Super Shad Rap lures or another available body bait brand. Does anyone know who, or how to go about this? This is just to be a hobby trying to keep myself busy during this COVID-19 Extended Cabin Fever Season.
    Any comments, suggestions would be welcomed. Thanks.

2. ebijack

ebijack

Lots of places on-line sell plastic and wood unfinished bodies.
    Jann's netcraft is only one. BUT, watch their shipping prices!
    They got me once, and I never shopped there ever again. It has been 25+ yrs. $16 shipping for 12 walleye hooks that cost less than the shipping.
    Lots of folks love Janns.

GrandGuru and cdnred like this.

3. Personal Business

Personal Business

Thanks for the site and your experience too.

4. piketroller

piketroller

Make sure you order from a reputable source. There are a lot of “deals” to be had from amazon and ebay sellers peddling knockoffs that don’t perform like the real thing. You have to remember you are going down the custom route because you want something that is not commercially available, and are willing to put in the time and money to get what you want. Don’t skimp.

5. ESOX

ESOX Staff Member Super Mod Mods

I have a number of unfinished original mahogany Lokes you can have for an arm and half a leg. I really dont know what they are worth but it's not gonna be 25 bucks each.

6. ebijack

ebijack

While your ordering, don't forget to get the proper size hooks you will want.