bkearney

First bow buck

I shot this buck on opening day of bow season on state land. He dressed out at 186 lbs and had an 18" inside spread.

First bow buck
bkearney, Dec 30, 2005
    • mossyed
      realy nice buck for stateland its good to see there are still some good bucks out there.
    • bkearney
      Imagine my suprise when this buck stepped out! There is a decent story to go along with the picture:

I have been hunting deer for over 20 years, mostly Columbian Blacktail in California, but I was Whitetail hunting in Michigan for several years before moving out of state.

I just recently (within the last couple years) picked up a bow and started getting serious about bow hunting. I had just moved back to MI in July of 2005 and was lucky enough to have a brother-in-law invite me to tag along on a Verona weekend trip for the opening of Bow season. I was excited and went out and got myself a self climbing tree stand a few weeks before opener.

I was practicing with my PSE thunderbolt, shooting from my new tree stand in my backyard, on Thursday night (if you remember, Oct. 1st was on a Saturday). After taking a few shots, I pulled back the bow one more time and on release, @%^$^&, I heard a loud snapping noise. I looked at my bow, and the piece on the top limb where the cam attaches broke!!! The cam had slipped into the notch cut in the limb, and was stuck there. Well, after thanking my guardian angel that the cam slipped forwards and not back (it could have smacked me right in the forehead)... I cursed my poor timing. It didn't look like I was going to get a chance to hunt with my bow this year. Needless to say, I was pretty bummed out.