Michigan Sportsman Forum banner

Remington Core Lokt miss-fire

5K views 47 replies 21 participants last post by  50incher 
#1 ·
Sleeve Automotive lighting Gas Electric blue Personal luxury car
This is a first for me! I’ve been shooting these bullets for almost 20 years and never had one fail to fire! Tonight my wife was doe hunting with her 30-06 with 150 grain core lokt PSP bullets and when she pulled the trigger on a big doe just 40 yds away all it did was click! Needless to say, she is not happy and never did get a shot off at her.

I read on here a week or 2 ago that someone else had a similar issue...anyone else have these issues with this round recently?

See less See more
#2 ·
There was an earlier thread about just this topic. What you're showing looks like a borderline light hit, meaning maybe the gun, maybe the ammo, to me.

#5 ·
View attachment 357331 This is a first for me! I’ve been shooting these bullets for almost 20 years and never had one fail to fire! Tonight my wife was doe hunting with her 30-06 with 150 grain core lokt PSP bullets and when she pulled the trigger on a big doe just 40 yds away all it did was click! Needless to say, she is not happy and never did get a shot off at her.

I read on here a week or 2 ago that someone else had a similar issue...anyone else have these issues with this round recently?
Look at that primer,doesn't look like it is seated right.

#9 ·
I’m hoping to be able to take a closer look at the shell tomorrow evening. After it didn’t fire she was worried it might go off so she dropped out the blind window to the ground and didn’t find it in the dark.

I will say, this gun has never miss fired and it’s about 20 years old. It is lubricated with a very thin rem oil out of an aerosol can for the past 20 years and this is the first issue its ever had. I’m very confident that this is not a gun issue.

#10 ·